
RoboForm
roboform.comClosed-source password manager from Siber Systems in Virginia whose free plan stores unlimited passwords on a single device.
- Owner
- Siber Systems Inc.
- Based in
- United States
- Founded
- Unknown
- Type
- Standalone app
- Free plan
- Yes
- Unlimited passwords on one device; no multi-device sync or sharing
- Premium, per year
- $29.88
- same price after year one
- Latest audit
- Secfault Security, 2025
- security audit
- On record
- No incidents found
- in our research
- Audited by Secfault Security in 2025
- Has a free plan
How RoboForm encrypts your vault
From RoboForm's security documentation, next to the other 22. RoboForm is outlined.
End-to-end encrypted
Encrypted on your device before it's stored (like 20 others)
Cipher: AES-256
Yes 21




















Optional 1

No 1

Website addresses encrypted
Encrypted with the rest of the item (like 18 others)
Encrypted 19


















Readable 1

Not documented 3



Item names encrypted
Titles and folder names are encrypted (like 16 others)
All data packed into a single AES-256 encrypted file.
Encrypted 17
















Readable 1

Not documented 5





Memory-hard password hashing
Repeated hashing, but not memory-hard: cracking hardware has an easier time (like 10 others)
PBKDF2-HMAC-SHA256 with a 32-byte salt; iteration count user-configurable
Memory-hard 3



Not memory-hard 11











Not documented 7






Doesn't apply 2


Extra secret key
Your master password is the only secret (like 13 others)
Yes 1

No 14













Not documented 4




Doesn't apply 4




What you'll pay
In USD, from RoboForm's own pricing page, checked 2026-10-16.
Free plan
Yes
Unlimited passwords on one device; no multi-device sync or sharing
Premium
$29.88/yr
billed yearly
After the first year
Same price
$89.64 over 3 years
Family
$47.76/yr
up to 5 people
- Business:
- $3.33/user/mo
- Free trial:
- Unknown
- Money-back:
- 30 days
- About the renewal:
- RoboForm's pricing page states 'Then renews at $29.88/yr'. A first-year discount for new users is advertised, but its amount wasn't shown on the page we checked.
Audits
Independent security reviews, newest first.
2025 Secfault Security
Scope: security audit. Report access not stated.
Executive summary public.
2023 Secfault Security
Scope: security audit. Report access not stated.
Executive summary public.
- Open-source appsNoNo
- Open-source serverNoNo
- Run it yourselfNoNo
- Bug bountyNot verifiedNot verified
Incidents
Breaches, stolen data and serious flaws on record.
Apps, browsers and passkeys
- WindowsYesYes
- macOSYesYes
- LinuxYesYes
- iPhoneYesYes
- AndroidYesYes
- Web vaultYesYes
- ChromeYesYes
- FirefoxYesYes
- SafariYesYes
- EdgeYesYes
- Saves and fills passkeysYesYes
- Unlock the vault with a passkeyYesYes
- Passkey import and export (CXP)Not verifiedNot verified
Sharing, recovery and extras
- Shared vaultsYesYes
- Share with non-usersNot verifiedNot verified
- Emergency accessYesYes
- 2FA codes built inYesYes
- Breach monitoringYesYes
- Email aliasesNoNo
- File attachmentsNot verifiedNot verified
- SSH keys and agentNot foundNot found
- Command lineNot foundNot found
- Encrypted exportNot verifiedNot verified
- Works offlineYesYes
- Authenticator-app 2FAYesYes
- Security key for 2FAYesYes
- Password health reportYesYes
- CSV exportYesYes
Compare RoboForm with
All sources for RoboForm (11)
- Research summary of the vendor's pages (no single link)AI-assisted research, spot-checked, checked 2026-10-16
- RoboForm securityVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- RoboForm help: third-party security auditVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Research summary of the vendor's pages (no single link)AI-assisted research, spot-checked, checked 2026-10-16
- RoboForm security white paperVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- RoboForm help: encryption on iOSVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- RoboForm personal pricingVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- RoboForm business pricingVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- RoboForm help centerVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- RoboForm PremiumVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- RoboForm blog: new authentication features (2025)Vendor, checked 2026-10-16