
Proton Pass
proton.me/passPassword manager from Switzerland's Proton AG with open-source apps, built-in hide-my-email aliases and a free plan on unlimited devices.
- Owner
- Proton AG
- Based in
- Switzerland
- Founded
- 2014
- Type
- Standalone app
- Free plan
- Yes
- Unlimited devices, logins and passkeys; 10 hide-my-email aliases; 2 vaults; sharing with 2 people
- Pass Plus, per year
- $35.88
- renewal price not stated
- Latest audit
- Recurity Labs, 2026
- security audit, public report
- On record
- No incidents found
- in our research
- Audited by Recurity Labs in 2026, report public
- All apps are open source
- Has a free plan
How Proton Pass encrypts your vault
From Proton Pass's security documentation, next to the other 22. Proton Pass is outlined.
End-to-end encrypted
Encrypted on your device before it's stored (like 20 others)
Cipher: AES-256-GCM
Yes 21




















Optional 1

No 1

Website addresses encrypted
Encrypted with the rest of the item (like 18 others)
Encrypted 19


















Readable 1

Not documented 3



Item names encrypted
Titles and folder names are encrypted (like 16 others)
All fields including usernames and metadata.
Encrypted 17
















Readable 1

Not documented 5





Memory-hard password hashing
Repeated hashing, but not memory-hard: cracking hardware has an easier time (like 10 others)
bcrypt (cost 10) of the account password plus salt protects the user key; vault items use random 32-byte AES-256-GCM vault keys
Memory-hard 3



Not memory-hard 11











Not documented 7






Doesn't apply 2


Extra secret key
Your master password is the only secret (like 13 others)
Yes 1

No 14













Not documented 4




Doesn't apply 4




What you'll pay
In USD, from Proton Pass's own pricing page, checked 2026-10-16.
Free plan
Yes
Unlimited devices, logins and passkeys; 10 hide-my-email aliases; 2 vaults; sharing with 2 people
Pass Plus
$35.88/yr
or $4.99 billed monthly
After the first year
Not stated
Check the price at checkout
Pass Family
$59.88/yr
up to 6 people
- Business:
- $1.99/user/mo
- Free trial:
- Unknown
- Money-back:
- 30 days
- About the renewal:
- The annual price is presented as a discount on the $4.99 monthly rate; renewal of the annual plan after the first term is not explicitly stated.
Audits
Independent security reviews, newest first.
2026 Recurity Labs
Scope: security audit. Report is public.
January to April 2026: browser extensions, desktop and mobile apps and CLI; backend tested black-box. Rated 'well above par'.
2023 Cure53
Scope: security audit. Report is public.
- Research summary (no single link)
- Open-source appsAll appsAll apps
- Open-source serverNoNo
- Run it yourselfNoNo
- Bug bountyYesYes
Certifications: ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type 2
Incidents
Breaches, stolen data and serious flaws on record.
Apps, browsers and passkeys
- WindowsYesYes
- macOSYesYes
- LinuxYesYes
- iPhoneYesYes
- AndroidYesYes
- Web vaultYesYes
- ChromeYesYes
- FirefoxYesYes
- SafariYesYes
- EdgeYesYes
- Saves and fills passkeysYesYes
- Unlock the vault with a passkeyNot verifiedNot verified
- Passkey import and export (CXP)Not verifiedNot verified
Sharing, recovery and extras
- Shared vaultsYesYes
- Share with non-usersYesYes
- Emergency accessYesYes
- 2FA codes built inYesYes
- Breach monitoringYesYes
- Email aliasesYesYes
- File attachmentsYesYes
- SSH keys and agentNot foundNot found
- Command lineYesYes
- Encrypted exportNot verifiedNot verified
- Works offlineYesYes
- Authenticator-app 2FAYesYes
- Security key for 2FANot verifiedNot verified
- Password health reportYesYes
- CSV exportNot verifiedNot verified
Where it's a pick
Best password manager for families
Pass Family is $59.88 a year for 6 people, with hide-my-email aliases, shared vaults and emergency access. The apps are open source; audited by Recurity Labs in 2026.
Best free password manager
Unlimited devices, logins and passkeys on the free plan, plus 10 hide-my-email aliases and 2 vaults. Open-source apps from a Swiss company.
Best open-source password manager
Open-source apps on every platform with a free plan. The server is closed, so you're trusting Proton's hosting, but the client-side encryption can be checked.
Best LastPass alternative
No incidents on record, open-source apps, a 2026 Recurity Labs audit, and email aliases to replace the addresses you've exposed.
Compare Proton Pass with
All sources for Proton Pass (13)
- Research summary of the vendor's pages (no single link)AI-assisted research, spot-checked, checked 2026-10-16
- Proton Pass securityVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Proton blog: Proton Pass security modelVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Research summary of the vendor's pages (no single link)AI-assisted research, spot-checked, checked 2026-10-16
- Proton Pass on GitHubSource code, checked 2026-10-16
- Proton Pass 2026 security audit (Recurity Labs)Audit, checked 2026-10-16
- Proton Pass pricingVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Proton Pass business pricingVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Proton PassVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Proton support: Pass 2FAVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Proton support: using passkeys in PassVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Proton blog: passkeys in Proton PassVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Proton Pass business featuresVendor, checked 2026-10-16